Herbal Tea – Cinnamon


As I reviewed my notes for my”Herbalogy ” (with an British accent) final, I definitely have found Chinese Herbs much more fascinating than before. I further developed an interest on how herbs are incorporated to gourmet dishes. How these herbs can enhance flavor and add a medicinal effect on food. Little did I know that this type of culinary arts have been used thousand of years ago during the Chinese Dynasties. It was like brushing the tip of a glacier where there is much more to learn about. This makes me want to improve my Chinese so I can read through Chinese historical cookbooks. I wonder what those would look like? Would they have measurements? or would it be like how my grandmother does it: by “experience”. Did I mention how my grandmother never really measured how much seasoning she puts in the food, she just knows. Perhaps, this is how I adapted a quite versatile cooking style. Or Perhaps, this is why I always fail at baking because it always required an exact measurement and order (like a stubborn baby??). Recently, I have been experimenting with herbal teas :).  I made concoctions of  herbs that are good for digestion,  insomnia, strengthening the body, and others all in one tea. It’s fun to experiment with the taste while knowing the function behind each herb.

For the Winter time, the TCM Clinician recommended a herbal tea that includes Cinnamon, Ginger and Dried Red Dates (aka Jujubees) to warm the body. What amazes me is how these herbs work? So, I looked up some facts about Cinnamon and found that it is not only a delicious spice but has many functions. It strengthen the circulatory system and is usually used in TCM treatment for  lower back pains, cold hands and feet, fatigue, abdominal pain and diarrhea. Is this why during the Winter season, Ginger and Cinnamon is used so often? Perhaps, traditions last this long for a reason?

CINNAMON-GINGER-DATES Herbal Tea – I tried it today and it’s delicious. It also feels very warming and the sweetness from this tea makes it very smoothing for the body. ENJOY!  -S

HOW TO MAKE IT:

Gather your 3 ingredients: (1) 1-3 Cinnamon Sticks/bark, (2) 2-3 slices of Ginger, (3) 3-5 Dried Red Dates

Boil them for 15-20mins and serve it hot.

Leave a Reply

