Greeting Cortisol with Hugs


This is what happens when I realize how much materials I need to fit in my brain…

It’s finals week and if I had a cortisol detector I bet the level of cortisol would be flying off the charts. Not to mention that finals are stressful, it also triggers a lot of biological effect such as explosive acnes, appetite changes, mood changes, just to name a few. Though many dread finals week, I usually love the experience. How often do I get to experience this week-long rush of cortisol? How often do I get motivated to focus on solely one thing and try to cram as much materials as I can? For some strange reason, I feel like my brain functions better with the extra doses  of stress. I am more efficient when a deadline is within 3 days than when the deadline is 3 weeks ahead of me. Why is that? Is it human nature to procrastinate? to rest? to use less calories (especially in the winter!). If it’s to reduce calories expenses, would people be more efficient when the temperature is comfortable because no extra calories is wasted to cool down or to warm up?

Some thoughts about Hugs. First of all, I didn’t grow up in a family that greeted people with hugs, but I slowly added hugs into my greeting. Hugs are amazing. I have to say a good hug or any hug will ease any misery, will brighten a gloomy day and will make a person smile (if not on the face, it’ll be in the heart!).

Hugs are not as complicated as the cartoon below. It doesn’t require that many choices or does it?

Again, hugs are not this complicated.. (enjoy the moment?)

Here’s a mentally to use.. 🙂 Enjoy -S

One thought on “Greeting Cortisol with Hugs

Leave a Reply

