Sharing Stupidity


“It is one of the blessings of old friends that you can afford to be stupid with them.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Sometimes, I ask myself what makes an acquaintance, a friend different from a good friend. Emerson’s word captures what I have in mind that constitute my good friends. But.. I wonder…, how much trust must I established before breaking down that barrier. I don’t think it’s a timely matter. Perhaps, it’s location, personality and commonality. I have made many friends but how many of them are actually good friends that I keep in touch with? It’s sad to see how the friendship slowly drifts apart as we set forth onto our own destiny. Although I keep in contact with a handful of these good friends, I ask myself what is the deciding factor for this extra effort to keep in touch? Is it Arbitrary? Quite frankly speaking, I’m not sure what it is. Perhaps, it’s the experience we shared? Perhaps what I don’t understand are the friendship we build during childhood up until high school or college. Those friends seem to disappear. Is there a difference between the friendship we make at different stages of our lives? Perhaps!

Recently, I began to enjoy hanging out with a smaller (2-5) group than a big group. I feel like this is how I get to really enjoy everybody’s presence instead of leaving someone in the corner. We share stories, we share thoughts! It’s just easier to talk within a small group than to fight to get everybody’s attention.

oh.. thank you to all my good o friends. You make life more colorful.

Leave a Reply

